City of Wenatchee buildings are closed to the public at this time. Please read the City Services Update for more information. The City of Wenatchee is working with local partners to provide accurate information about the Coronavirus (COVID-19) to the public. If you have symptoms and reasons to believe your symptoms are connected to COVID-19, please call your healthcare provider. If you have any questions about what is happening in Washington and how the virus is spread, visit the Washington State Department of Health website at:

Critical Areas

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

What are critical areas?
Section 12.08.020(16) of the Wenatchee City Code (WCC) defines critical areas as "the following areas as designated in accordance with this chapter: (a) Critical aquifer recharge areas; (b) Wetlands; (c) Geologically hazardous areas; (d) Frequently flooded areas; (e) Fish and wildlife habitat conservation areas.  Download the Critical Areas Map for current designations. 

Why do we protect critical areas?
The state Legislature has passed RCW 36.70A.060, which mandates local governments that plan under 36.70A.040 to adopt development regulations to ensure the conservation of agricultural, forest and mineral resource lands, and to adopt development regulations precluding land uses or development that is incompatible with critical areas designated under RCW 36.70A.170.

Can we develop property within a critical area?
The Critical Areas code found in Chapter 12.08 of the WCC, provides guidance to protect critical areas and their functions and values, while allowing development that provides an economic benefit or productive use of private property.

For more information on critical areas development, please contact the Department.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer